Saturday, 24 May 2008


23.05.2008, Today from the vatican newsletter: The Apostolic See has erected a new Ecclesiastical province of Kota Kinabalu (Malaysia), formerly under the province of Kuching, Sarawak. The pope has nominated the first Archbishop Metropolitan of Kota Kinabalu (Malaysia) S.E. Mons. John Lee Hiong Fun-Yit Yaw (the present bishop of Kota Kinabalu-bishop Datuk John Lee)

Statistic Data

The are about 310,000 Roman Catholic populations new Province of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, 8.8% of the 3.5 million of inhabitants. There are also a various Christians denomination in the state and there are called “Christian Sabah”.

The new Division:

a). The Archdiocese of Kuching , with Sibu and Miri in the suffragan dioceses

b). The Archdiocese of Kota Kinabalu, with Keningau and Sandakan in the suffragan dioceses

According to the canon law in Latin Church, the metropolitan, who is the archbishop of the diocese which he heads, preside over an ecclesiastical province; this office is connected with an Episcopal see which has been determined or approved by the Roman Pontiff (can. 435)

Meanwhile, all the bishops in the Region of Malaysia, Singapore, Burunei, will be in Rome on the first week of June this year to meet the Pope-Ad Limina visit.


Archie said...

huh, what is the different between diucese and archdiocese?

dakunfrancis said...

archdiocese is seen the main or the center of several dioceses. There are 3 dioceses in sabah, kota kinabalu will be the archdiocese or the center of unity among the three bishops. This is a systematic structure that is to emphasize unity among local churches